A Deeper Look into 7 Insights We Can Model from The Leadership Journey of Jesus – #2 – Alignment

This is the 3rd post in an ongoing series on the leadership journey of Jesus. You can find the introductory article here, and review insight #1 – Awareness – from last week here.

This week we will take a deeper look into what it means to align ourselves with the leadership Journey of Jesus and ultimately the Father.

Last week we spent some time diving into understanding the importance of Awareness of the leadership journey and calling that God has placed on our lives. The necessity for a view of reality of who God is and what He has created and called us to be and do.

The natural overflow of understanding reality, is the question “What will I now do with the truth that I now know?”. Having a high level of awareness is no good to the leader who has a low level of reaction to the truth.

We see in the leadership of Jesus that His alignment with the Father was in direct proportion with His awareness of the Father and the Father’s plan for Him. Alignment can be defined and labeled as many things: submission, obedience, allegiance, calibration, positioning. But, ultimately it is choosing to completely and wholly agree with and cooperate with the calling that God has placed on you as a leader – on His terms and His terms alone.

In Jesus’s leadership journey and life we see Him accepting the leadership reality that – to align myself with God:

  • I must accept a lowly position outside of what I deserve or am worthy of for the greater good.
  • I must fully immerse myself into, and experience, what those I am serving are experiencing and not hide from it.
  • I must spend years of my life in seclusion while training and preparing for ministry and leadership.
  • I must be unwavering in my consistent integrity and holiness in all things private and public.
  • I must be willing to be ever patient and content to wait on God’s perfect timing alone.
  • I must face and then set aside my limited capacity to craft a future plan in my restricted state.
  • I must not only allow, but give permission to others to neglect and abuse me at times.
  • I must be ready to stand strong for the truth in spite of all opposition and personal ridicule.
  • I must be willing to do ministry for long hours in settings that are not ideal for unappreciative people.
  • I must be willing to turn good people away when it would compromise my health and ministry not to.
  • I must choose to invest in and develop other leaders whom don’t bring much initial skill to the equation.
  • I must balance the demands of my life and ministry to sustain my leadership capacity to the end.
  • I must be willing to invest enormous amounts of time, energy and effort in prayer and fasting for spiritual sustenance.
  • I must be willing to change directions and take people to a new place at a moment’s notice.
  • I must take the time to help other people become fully aware of who they are and who God is.
  • I must be willing to endure unimaginable temporal suffering for unprecedented eternal reward.
  • I must equip, inspire and prepare others to the point that they can carry forward the mission in my absence long into the future.

Obviously, this list could go on and on as we look at all the leadership journey of Jesus required. However, we can easily see that in spite if the task at hand, we see over and over again His willingness to accept the reality of it and rightly align Himself to God’s design and will. Alignment with God’s design and will is always a high cost endeavor, but with a high reward outcome.

What would you add to this list as a requirement of aligning with and fulfilling the leadership journey of Jesus and consequently your own leadership journey as well??

About Ken McGarity

With vast experience as a successful entrepreneur and active in ministry leadership for many years, Ken McGarity is most recently engaged as a Church Growth Consultant and Strategist, as well as Christian Leadership Coach to today’s up and coming Christian leaders.

What are your thoughts on this post?

