2 Corinthians 12:1-10 – Dealing with Our Weakness

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 – And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.   Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.

Because we live in a world that has been invaded by sinful influence we can all unfortunately identify greatly with having been stricken with infirmity and distresses. Not just in the sense of understanding a physical sickness or disease, but in the sense of an afflicted and broken world as a whole. Another more simplified way to define it may be to simply call it unhealthiness. There is an unhealthiness that permeates our culture and the world as a whole because of sin. An unhealthiness that sometimes happens to us, and sometimes happens because of us. A reality that is far less than the healthiness and wholeness that God intended for us.

In this passage of Scripture Paul describes for us, how in the midst of this prevalent cloud of unhealthiness, that Christ can be glorified in the end. But we must see the parallel that Christ is to unhealthiness to fully appreciate it. Christ embodies all that is healthiness, wholeness, completeness and perfection. The only solution to unhealthiness is healing. The only medicine that can heal is that medicine which is able to overcome and eradicate sickness and bring about a state of complete correctness and purity. By definition, a cure is complete in it’s healing.

Paul is telling us, “I have suffered much. I have experienced the unhealthy influences of sin brought about from my own choices and the choices of others. Yet I know stand radically healed and made whole from the inside out by Christ and His healing grace. My Spirit has been made whole in Christ. I have found the cure for the spiritual sickness we have all been afflicted with !” No wonder he wants to talk about and share that rather than what bad thing has happened to him. He wants to talk about the cure, not the sickness.

The cure is the grace of God we can receive only in Christ. True healing, true spiritual wholeness can only come from God. He created our soul and is exclusively equipped with the tools and resources to repair that which is broken. To provide healing to that which has been afflicted. When we allow Him to be the remedy for our unhealthiness then we can boast to others about the cure we have received in Him. We bring glory to Him when we demonstrate to others how His grace has healed us and made us whole. That alone should energize us to “boast” all the more.

Praise: Thank you Father for being the great Healer and remedy for my unhealthiness.

Confess: Lord, you have offered me spiritual medicine that I still refuse to take. I need your help.

Request: Teach me to boast in only those things of great value to you and not about my own story or abilities.

What are your thoughts on this passage of Scripture?
About Ken McGarity

With vast experience as a successful entrepreneur and active in ministry leadership for many years, Ken McGarity is most recently engaged as a Church Growth Consultant and Strategist, as well as Christian Leadership Coach to today’s up and coming Christian leaders.

What are your thoughts on this post?

